2023 Chicago Runoff Election Summary

April 17, 2023

Pardon Our Dust

We recently launched this new site and are still in the process of updating some of our archived content. Some details of this article may be incomplete, links may be broken, and other elements may not display properly yet. We appreciate your patience and understanding.

Chicago’s municipal runoff election occurred on Tuesday, April 4. Races that did not achieve a 50% majority in the February 28 election sent the top two candidates to the runoff. The Chicago Board of Elections reported 35% of registered voters cast a ballot in the 2023 runoff, equal to the 35% turnout from February 28, and up 2% over the 33% turnout recorded in the 2019 runoff.

With over 99% of votes counted, Cook County Commissioner Brandon Johnson defeated former Chicago Public Schools CEO Paul Vallas to become the 57th Mayor of Chicago. As of the morning of April 6, Johnson received 51.44% of the vote, compared to 48.56% for Vallas. Johnson ran as a progressive funded by the Chicago Teachers Union, whereas Vallas ran a moderate campaign, receiving support from Republican-affiliated groups and focusing on increasing police presence.

Geographically, Johnson won most precincts on the South Side, West Side, and progressive areas of the far North Side. Vallas bested Johnson on the city’s Northwest Side, Southwest Side, downtown, far Southeast Side, and North Side areas along Lake Michigan.

Young voters turned out at even higher numbers than on February 28, likely propelling Johnson to victory. 17,000 more voters ages 25 to 34 and 5,000 more voters ages 18 to 24 voted in the runoff election than on February 28. The mayoral inauguration is scheduled for May 15.

14 aldermanic races, including six races featuring incumbents, were also decided in the runoff election. All six incumbent aldermen who went to a runoff were reelected.

Below is a complete list of races from the runoff election. Winners are marked in bold.


Brandon Johnson
Paul Vallas

4th Ward Alderman

Lamont Robinson
Prentice C. Butler

5th Ward Alderman

Martina “Tina” Hone
Desmon C. Yancy

6th Ward Alderman

Richard A Wooten
William E. Hall

10th Ward Alderman

Peter Chico
Ana Guajardo

11th Ward Alderman

Anthony “Tony” Ciaravino
Nicole Lee (i)

21st Ward Alderman

Cornell Dantzler
Ronnie L. Mosley

24th Ward Alderman

Monique L. Scott (i)
Creative Scott

29th Ward Alderman

Chris Taliaferro (i)
CB Johnson

30th Ward Alderman

Ruth Cruz
Jessica W. Gutierrez

36th Ward Alderman

Leonor “Lori” Torres Whitt
Gilbert “Gil” Villegas (i)

43rd Ward Alderman

Timmy Knudsen (i)
Brian C. Comer

45th Ward Alderman

Megan Mathias
James “Jim” Gardiner (i)

46th Ward Alderman

Angela Clay
Kim Walz

48th Ward Alderman

Joe Dunne
Leni Manaa-Hoppenworth