North Carolina General Assembly Week in Review – SPECIAL EDITION: NC Senate Announces Committee Assignments

December 1, 2015

Pardon Our Dust

We recently launched this new site and are still in the process of updating some of our archived content. Some details of this article may be incomplete, links may be broken, and other elements may not display properly yet. We appreciate your patience and understanding.

President Pro Tempore of the Senate Announces Interim Committee Appointments

This morning, President Pro Tempore of the Senate Phil Berger (R-Rockingham) announced appointments to the interim joint legislative oversight committeesand study committees.

House Speaker Tim Moore (R-Cleveland) announced the House appointments to oversight and study committees on November 20.

It is likely that most of these committees will meet once a month until the 2016 short session convenes in late April.

Click hereto review the House’s interim committee assignments.

Administrative Procedure
Sen. Fletcher Hartsell, Chair
Sens. Tamara Barringer, Dan Blue, Warren Daniel, Brent Jackson, Jeff Jackson, Gladys Robinson, Andy Wells

Agriculture & Natural and Economic Resources
Sen. Brent Jackson, Chair
Sens. John Alexander, Angela Bryant, Bill Cook, Tom McInnis, Norman Sanderson

Capital Improvements
Sen. Kathy Harrington, Chair
Sens. Harry Brown, Ben Clark, Joel Ford, Rick Gunn, Brent Jackson, Joyce Krawiec, Tommy Tucker
Advisory Member: Sen. Chad Barefoot

Economic Development
Sen. Harry Brown, Chair
Sens. Tamara Barringer, Angela Bryant, Rick Gunn, Brent Jackson, Michael Lee, Tom McInnis, Floyd McKissick, Bob Rucho, Norma Sanderson, Erica Smith-Ingram

Sen. Dan Soucek, Chair
Sen. Jerry Tillman, Vice Chair
Sens. Tom Apodaca, Chad Barefoot, David Curtis, Louis Pate, Norman Sanderson, Jane Smith, Erica Smith-Ingram, Joyce Waddell
Advisory Member: Sen. Fletcher Hartsell

Sen. Bob Rucho, Chair
Sens. Tom Apodaca, Dan Blue, Andrew Brock, Joyce Krawiec, Jane Smith, Jeff Tarte, Mike Woodard

Emergency Management
Sen. Dan Soucek, Chair
Sens. Kathy Harrington, Buck Newton, Ronald Rabin, Norman Sanderson, Terry Van Duyn

Energy Policy
Sen. Andrew Brock, Chair
Sens. Buck Newton, Ronald Rabin, Bob Rucho, Joyce Waddell
Advisory Member:Sen. Brent Jackson

Environmental Review Commission
Sen. Trudy Wade, Chair
Sens. John Alexander, Stan Bingham, Brent Jackson, Paul Lowe, Ronald Rabin, Jane Smith
Ex-Officio Member: Sen. Andrew Brock

General Government
Sen. Jim Davis, Chair
Sens. Don Davis, Valerie Foushee, Joyce Krawiec, Michael Lee, Norman Sanderson

Governmental Operations
Sen. Phil Berger, Chair & Ex-Officio
Sens. Tom Apodaca, Chad Barefoot, Stan Bingham, Dan Blue, Andrew Brock, Warren Daniel, Don Davis, Jim Davis, Joel Ford, Rick Gunn, Kathy Harrington,Fletcher Hartsell, Ralph Hise, Brent Jackson, Floyd McKissick, Bill Rabon, Bob Rucho, Josh Stein, Jerry Tillman, Tommy Tucker, Trudy Wade
Ex-Officio Members: Sens. Harry Brown, Louis Pate

Health & Human Services
Sen. Louis Pate, Chair
Sens. Chad Barefoot, Tamara Barringer, Valerie Foushee, Ralph Hise, Gladys Robinson, Norman Sanderson, Jeff Tarte, Tommy Tucker, Terry Van Duyn, MikeWoodard
Advisory Member: Sen. Shirley Randleman

Information Technology
Sen. Jeff Tarte, Chair
Sens. Chad Barefoot, Andrew Brock, Ben Clark, Ralph Hise, Dan Soucek, Josh Stein, Mike Woodard

Justice & Public Safety
Sen. Shirley Randleman, Chair
Sens. Stan Bingham, Harry Brown, Angela Bryant, Warren Daniel, Jeff Jackson, Michael Lee, Buck Newton, Gladys Robinson, Dan Soucek, Andy Wells

Legislative Research Commission
Sen. Tom Apodaca, Chair
Sens. Dan Blue, Kathy Harrington, Paul Lowe, Wesley Meredith
Ex-Officio Member: Sen. Phil Berger

Legislative Services Commission
Sen. Phil Berger, Chair & Ex-Officio
Sens. Tom Apodaca, Harry Brown, Ben Clark, Buck Newton

Local Government
Sen. Jim Davis, Chair
Sens. David Curtis, Don Davis, Valerie Foushee, Tommy Tucker, Trudy Wade, Mike Woodard

Municipal Incorporations Subcommittee
Sen. Jim Davis, Chair
Sens. Valerie Foushee, Tommy Tucker

Medicaid & Health Choice
Sen. Ralph Hise, Chair
Sens. Ben Clark, Fletcher Hartsell, Joyce Krawiec, Floyd McKissick, Louis Pate, Tommy Tucker

North Carolina State Lottery
Sen. Jerry Tillman, Chair
Sens. Tom Apodaca, Harry Brown, Don Davis, Rick Gunn, Floyd McKissick, Andy Wells

Revenue Laws Study Committee
Sen. Bob Rucho, Chair
Sen. Bill Rabon, Vice Chair
Sen. Jerry Tillman, Vice Chair
Sens. Andrew Brock, Ben Clark, David Curtis, Joel Ford, Fletcher Hartsell, Floyd McKissick, Andy Wells
Advisory Member: Sen. Tamara Barringer

Sen. Bill Rabon, Chair
Sen. Kathy Harrington, Vice Chair
Sens. Warren Daniel, Joel Ford, Rick Gunn, Joyce Krawiec, Michael Lee, Paul Lowe, Wesley Meredith, Erica Smith-Ingram, Dan Soucek
Advisory Member: Sen. John Alexander

Unemployment Insurance
Sen. Bob Rucho, Chair
Sens. John Alexander, Ben Clark, Wesley Meredith

Workforce Development System Reform
Sen. Chad Barefoot, Chair
Sens. Bill Cook, David Curtis, Jim Davis, Louis Pate, Ronald Rabin, Jane Smith, Terry Van Duyn


Senior Vice President 

Senior Vice President 

Franklin Freeman
Senior Vice President 

Bo Heath
Senior Vice President 

John Merritt
Senior Vice President 

Senior Vice President 

Kerri Burke
Vice President 

Assistant Vice President 

Sarah Wolfe
Assistant Vice President