NC Politics in the News

November 9, 2015

Pardon Our Dust

We recently launched this new site and are still in the process of updating some of our archived content. Some details of this article may be incomplete, links may be broken, and other elements may not display properly yet. We appreciate your patience and understanding.

2015 Election Results

NEWS & OBSERVER: Local bond votes signal support for statewide bond in March
Voters in five towns across the state showed strong support Tuesday for borrowing with bond financing, and backers of a $2 billion statewide bond issue saythe results show voters are willing to support that type of investment.

CHARLOTTE OBSERVER: Charlotte Mayor-elect Jennifer Roberts played ‘outside game’ to win
Back in March, as the field of Charlotte’s mayoral candidates continued to grow, a lot of people considered Democrat Jennifer Roberts a long shot.

FAYETTEVILLE OBSERVER: Fayetteville Mayor Nat Robertson wins 2nd term
Fayetteville Mayor Nat Robertson narrowly won a second term Tuesday night over Democratic challenger Val Applewhite.

NEWS & RECORD: Mayor Nancy Vaughan wins second term in a landslide
Mayor Nancy Vaughan on Tuesday became the city’s first two-term mayor since Keith Holliday stepped down in 2007.

CHARLOTTE OBSERVER: Huntersville elections a ‘referendum’ on I-77 toll lanes
Huntersville Mayor Jill Swain and two town commissioners were booted from office in this week’s elections because of residents’ anger about the state’splans to widen Interstate 77 with toll lanes, people on both sides agreed Wednesday.

CHARLOTTE OBSERVER: Voters say ‘no’ to 4-year terms for Mecklenburg County commissioners
Voters on Tuesday rejected doubling the length of time Mecklenburg County commissioners can serve on the nine-member board.

2016 Election

WECT: Rep. Ken Waddell won’t run for re-election
Rep. Ken Waddell says he won’t seek a third term in the North Carolina House.

CHARLOTTE OBSERVER: State Sen. Bob Rucho says this term will be his last
Sen. Bob Rucho of Matthews, a major architect of everything from North Carolina’s tax policy to its voting districts, announced Thursday that he won’t seeka new term.

WWAY: Rick Catlin won’t seek re-election to NC House, Tammy Covil to seek seat
A New Hanover County Republican has told colleagues he will not seek re-election next year to the North Carolina House of Representatives.

WRAL: Lawmakers take themselves out of running
Lawmakers have to decide before Christmas whether they will seek re-election, and a growing number say this term will be their last. ​


NEWS & OBSERVER: Looser alcohol laws benefit NC distilleries, retailers
For the first time since Prohibition, liquor bottles are being sold outside of the state’s Alcoholic Beverage Control system.


NEWS & RECORD: Howard Coble funeral set for Tuesday
Former U.S. Rep. Howard Coble, the longest-serving Republican congressman in North Carolina history, died late Tuesday — Election Day. He was 84.

NEWS & OBSERVER: Dorothy ‘Dot’ Helms, widow of late Sen. Jesse Helms, dies at 96
Dorothy “Dot” Coble Helms, widow of the late U.S. Sen. Jesse Helms, died Friday at the age of 96.


NEWS & OBSERVER: Leeway for struggling charter schools proposed
The State Board of Education is considering a new policy that would allow struggling charter schools to stay open.

THE TIMES-NEWS: McCrory hails Alamance, Guilford apprenticeship programs
If North Carolina doesn’t fill the skilled worker gap that the state’s manufacturing sector faces, new industries will refuse to locate here, and existingones will leave, Gov. Pat McCrory told business and education leaders Thursday.

Energy & Environment

STATESVILLE RECORD & LANDMARK: McCrory environment agency confronts critics, pushes policy
For years, North Carolina’s environmental agency usually stayed out of the public discourse, quietly carrying out the will of the General Assembly and themandates of states and federal policymakers and the current gubernatorial administration.


Senior Vice President 

Senior Vice President 

Franklin Freeman
Senior Vice President 

Bo Heath
Senior Vice President 

John Merritt
Senior Vice President 

Senior Vice President 

Kerri Burke
Vice President 

Assistant Vice President 

Sarah Wolfe
Assistant Vice President