North Carolina’s Berger, McCrory & Tillis announce key appointments

December 20, 2012

Pardon Our Dust

We recently launched this new site and are still in the process of updating some of our archived content. Some details of this article may be incomplete, links may be broken, and other elements may not display properly yet. We appreciate your patience and understanding.


This week, Governor-elect Pat McCrory, Speaker of the House Thom Tillis and President Pro Tempore Phil Berger announced key appointments to the Executive Branch and General Assembly committees.

Secretary of Cultural Resources: Susan Kluttz (former Salisbury mayor)
Secretary of Public Safety: Kieran Shanahan (former federal prosecutor)
Secretary of Revenue: Lyons Gray (former NC legislator)
Chief Legal Counsel: Bob Stephens
Communications Director: Chris Walker
Deputy Budget Director: Art Pope
WRAL: NC Gov.-elect McCrory makes 3 cabinet appointments
A former legislator, mayor and federal prosecutor are among those who will serve in key cabinet positions for incoming North Carolina Gov. Pat McCrory.
WRAL: Pope, Shanahan find place in McCrory cabinet
Art Pope, backer of Republican candidates and fiscally conservative nonprofit groups, will serve as Gov. Pat McCrory’s head of budget policy, the incoming governor announced Thursday.
Senior Appropriations Chair: Rep. Nelson Dollar (R-Wake)
Appropriations Chairs: Reps. Justin Burr (R-Stanly), Bryan Holloway (R-Stokes) & Linda Johnson (R-Cabarrus)
Subcommittee on Education: Reps. Hugh Blackwell (R-Burke), Craig Horn (R-Union) & Chuck McGrady (R-Henderson)
Subcommittee on General Government: Reps. Rayne Brown (R-Davidson) & George Cleveland (R-Onslow)
Subcommittee on Health & Human Services: Reps. Marilyn Avila (R-Wake), William Brisson (D-Bladen) & Mark Hollo (R-Alexander)
Subcommittee on Information Technology: Rep. Jason Saine (R-Lincoln)
Subcommittee on Justice & Public Safety: Reps. Jamie Boles (R-Moore), Leo Daughtry (R-Johnston), John Faircloth (R-Guilford) & Pat Hurley (R-Randolph)
Subcommittee on Natural & Economic Resources: Reps. Pat McElraft (R-Carteret) & Roger West (R-Cherokee)
Subcommittee on Transportation: Reps. Phil Shepard (R-Onslow) & John Torbett (R-Gaston)
Senior Chair: Rep. Julia Howard (R-Davie)
Finance Chairs: Rep-Elect Robert Brawley (R-Iredell), Reps. David Lewis (R-Catawba) & Mitchell Setzer (R-Catawba)
Agriculture: Rep. Jimmy Dixon (R-Duplin) & Rep. J.H. Langdon (R-Johnston)
Banking: Rep. Ruth Samuelson (R-Mecklenburg)
Commerce & Job Development: Rep. Tom Murry (R-Wake)
Education: Rep. Linda Johnson (R-Cabarrus) & Rep. J.H. Langdon (R-Johnston)
Election Law: Rep. David Lewis (R-Harnett) & Rep. Tim Moore (R-Cleveland)
Environment: Rep. Pat McElraft (R-Carteret) & Rep. Roger West (R-Cherokee)
Ethics: Rep. Becky Howard (D-Mecklenburg) & Rep. Julia Howard (R-Davie)
Government: Rep. Mike Stone (R-Lee) & Rep. Harry Warren (R-Rowan)
Health & Human Services: Rep. Mark Hollo (R-Alexander) & Rep. Bert Jones (R-Rockingham)
Homeland Security, Military & Veterans Affairs: Rep. Kelly Hastings (R-Gaston) & Rep. Larry Pittman (R-Cabarrus)
Insurance: Rep. Jerry Dockham (R-Davidson)
Judiciary: Rep. Leo Daughtry (R-Johnston)
Judiciary Subcommittee A: Rep. John Blust (R-Guilford)
Judiciary Subcommittee B: Rep. Jonathan Jordan (R-Ashe) & Rep. Chuck McGrady (R-Henderson)
Judiciary Subcommittee C: Rep. Sarah Stevens (R-Surry)
Public Utilities: Rep. Mike Hager (R-Rutherford)
State Personnel: Rep. Jeff Collins (R-Nash)
Regulatory Reform: Rep. Tim Moffitt (R-Buncombe)
Rules: Rep. Tim Moore (R-Cleveland)
Transportation: Rep. Bill Brawley (R-Mecklenburg) & Rep. Frank Iler (R-Brunswick)
NEWS & OBSERVER: House speaker announces chair appointments
North Carolina House speaker Thom Tillis is naming Republican legislators who will head key committees for the General Assembly’s new session.
NEWS & OBSERVER: Tillis reaches into sophomore class for key committee chairs
House Speaker Thom Tillis on Wednesday announced his choices to lead key committees, elevating several second-term representatives to prominent positions.
Chairs: Sen. Harry Brown (R-Onslow), Sen. Pete Brunstetter (R-Forsyth) & Sen. Neal Hunt (R-Wake)
Subcommittee on Department of Transportation: Sen. Kathy Harrington (R-Gaston) & Sen. Bill Rabon (R-Brunswick)
Subcommittee on Education/Higher Education: Sen. Tom Apodaca (R-Henderson), Sen. Dan Soucek (R-Watagua) & Sen. Jerry Tillman (R-Randolph)
Subcommittee on Health & Human Services:Sen. Ralph Hise (R-Mitchell) & Sen. Louis Pate (R-Wayne)
Subcommittee on Justice & Public Safety: Sen. Stan Bingham (R-Davidson), Sen. Thom Goolsby (R-New Hanover) & Sen. Buck Newton (R-Wilson)
Subcommittee on Natural & Economic Resources: Sen. Andrew Brock (R-Davie) & Sen. Brent Jackson (R-Sampson)
Agriculture/Environment/Natural Resources: Sen. Andrew Brock (R-Davie) & Sen. Brent Jackson (R-Sampson)
Appropriations/Base Budget:
Commerce: Sen. Rick Gunn (R-Alamance) & Sen. Wesley Meredith (R-Cumberland)
Education/Higher Education: Sen. Tom Apodaca (R-Henderson), Sen. Dan Soucek (R-Watagua) & Sen. Jerry Tillman (R-Randolph)
Finance:Sen. Bob Rucho (R-Mecklenburg) & Sen. Bill Rabon (R-Brunswick)
Health Care: Sen. Ralph Hise (R-Mitchell) & Sen. Louis Pate (R-Wayne)
Insurance: Sen. Tom Apodaca (R-Henderson) & Sen. Wesley Meredith (R-Cumberland)
Judiciary I: Sen. Thom Goolsby (R-New Hanover) & Sen. Buck Newton (R-Wilson)
Judiciary II: Sen. Austin Allran (R-Catawba) & Sen. Warren Daniel (R-Burke)
Pensions & Retirement and Aging: Sen. Tom Apodaca (R-Henderson) & Sen. Ralph Hise (R-Mitchell)
Program Evaluation: Sen. Fletcher Hartsell (R-Cabarrus)
Rules & Operations of the Senate:Sen. Tom Apodaca (R-Henderson)
State & Local Government: Sen. Jim Davis (R-Macon) & Sen. Tommy Tucker (R-Union)
Transportation: Sen. Warren Daniel (R-Burke) & Sen. Kathy Harrington (R-Gaston)
Please contact the Raleigh McGuireWoods Consulting team if you have any questions or comments:
Harry Kaplan, Senior Vice-President
Jeff Barnhart, Senior Vice-President
Franklin Freeman, Senior Vice-President
John Merritt, Senior Vice-President
Johnny Tillett, Senior Vice-President
Bo Heath, Vice-President
Kerri Burke, Assistant Vice-President
Sarah Wolfe, Research Assistant
Katy Feinberg, Strategic Communications