NC Politics In the News: Primary Update

July 18, 2012

Pardon Our Dust

We recently launched this new site and are still in the process of updating some of our archived content. Some details of this article may be incomplete, links may be broken, and other elements may not display properly yet. We appreciate your patience and understanding.

On Tuesday, July 15th, candidates in fifteen races contended for their party’s nomination for the 2012 November General Election. The primary runoff is a result of the May 8th primary election, in which districts had no candidate receive at least 40% of the vote. The two highest vote-getters of the primary were eligible for the runoff.
Republicans competed in 12 runoffs; four Council of State races, three Congressional races, and five General Assembly races. Democrats competed in three primary runoffs; one Council of State race and two General Assembly races.
All eligible voters were able to cast their vote in the primary runoff, however only 3.6 percent of North Carolina voters participated.
Lieutenant Governor (GOP): Dan Forest (R-Wake) defeated Tony Gurley (R-Wake) with 67.9% of the vote. Forest will face Linda Coleman (D-Wake) in the General Election.
Secretary of State (GOP): Ed Goodwin (R-Chowan) defeated Kenn Gardner (R-Wake) with 54.5% of the vote. Goodwin will face incumbent Elaine Marshall (D-Wake) in the General Election.
Insurance Commissioner (GOP): Mike Causey (R-Guilford) defeated former Co-Speaker of the NC House Richard Morgan with 57.4% of the vote. Causey will face incumbent Wayne Goodwin (D-Richmond) in the General Election.
Superintendent of Public Instruction (GOP): John Tedesco (R-Wake) defeated Richard Alexander (R-Union) with 54.4% of the vote. Tedesco will face incumbent June Atkinson in the General Election.
Labor Commissioner (DEM): Former NC Labor Commissioner John Brooks (D-Wake) defeated Marlowe Foster (D-Wake) with 54.2% of the vote. Brooks will face incumbent Cherie Berry (R-Catawba) in the General Election.
US House District 8 (GOP): Richard Hudson (R-Cabarrus) defeated Scott Keadle (R-Iredell) with 63.7% of the vote. Hudson will face incumbent Rep. Larry Kissell (D-Montgomery) in the General Election.
US House District 9 (GOP): Former state Senator Robert Pittinger (R-Mecklenburg) defeated Jim Pendegraph (R-Mecklenburg) with 52.9% of the vote. Pittinger will face both Jennifer Roberts (D-Mecklenburg) and Curtis Campbell (L-Mecklenburg) in the General Election.
US House District 11 (GOP): Mark Meadows (R-Mason) defeated Vance Patterson (R-Burke) with 76.3% of the vote. Meadows will face Hayden Rogers (D-Cherokee) in the General Election.
NC Senate District 12 (GOP): Ronald Rabin (R-Harnett) defeated former state Rep. Don Davis (R-Harnett) with 52.3% of the vote. Rabin will face Brad Salmon (D-Harnett) in the General Election.
NC Senate District 21 (DEM): Robert Clark III (D-Hoke) defeated Bill King (D-Cumberland) with 59.8% of the vote. Clark faces no opposition in the General Election and has won the seat for the Senate district.
NC Senate District 41 (GOP): Jeff Tarte (R-Mecklenburg) defeated John Aneralla (R-Meckleburg) with 51.2% of the vote. Tarte faces no opposition in the General Election and has won the seat for the Senate district.
NC Senate District 44 (GOP): Davis Curtis (R-Lincoln) defeated recently appointed incumbent Sen. Chris Carney (R-Iredell) with 59.2% of the vote. Curtis faces Ross Bulla (D-Lincoln) in the General Election.
NC House District 6 (GOP): Mattie Lawson (R-Dare) defeated former Democrat state Rep. Arthur Williams (R-Beaufort) with 67.1% of the vote. Lawson will face Paul Tine (D-Dare) in the General Election.
NC House District 32 (DEM): Nathan Baskerville (D-Vance) defeated Jim Crawford III (D-Vance) with 76.6% of the vote. Baskerville will face Scott Bynum (R-Warren) in the General Election.
NC House District 109 (GOP): Dana Bumgardner (R-Gaston) defeated former state Rep. Wil Neumann (R-Gaston) with 52.8% of the vote. Bumgardner faces no opposition in the General Election and has won the seat for the House district.
WRAL: Voter turnout anemic for NC’s runoff primaries
North Carolina’s voter turnout for the primary runoff started slow and finished slow.
WRAL: NC Republicans pick 3 in congressional runoffs
Republicans in the North Carolina mountains, the Charlotte suburbs, and the struggling textile towns east of the Queen City selected candidates Tuesday in a second round of primary elections.
NEWS & OBSERVER: Forest, Tedesco win as voters set November Ballot
Republican voters made their final picks Tuesday for the November ballot, selecting candidates for the state’s top posts in a runoff election marked by a near-record low statewide turnout.
NEWS & OBSERVER: Rabin edges Davis in N.C. District 12 Senate race
Ronald Rabin edged out Don Davis in the Republican runoff for state Senate District 12. He received more than 52 percent of the votes Tuesday and will face Democratic nominee Brad Salmon of Lillington this fall.
CHARLOTTE OBSERVER: Curtis wins Senate District 44 seat
Denver optometrist Dr. David Curtis captured 81 percent of the vote in his home county of Lincoln Tuesday night to win the N.C. Senate District 44 Republican primary runoff over incumbent Chris Carney of Mooresville.
NEWS & OBSERVER: State Rep. LaRoque indicted over nonprofit loans
State Rep. Stephen LaRoque was indicted Tuesday by a federal grand jury in Raleigh accusing him of eight counts of theft and illegal financial transactions. The charges stem from LaRoque’s handling of nonprofit entities he owned that loaned federal money to business owners who had trouble finding loans elsewhere.
HAVELOCK NEWS: Wainwright remembered as dedicated to community
N.C. Rep. William Wainwright, a Democrat who served Craven County and Eastern North Carolina voters in the General Assembly for more than two decades, died Tuesday evening Carolina East Medical Center following an illness. He was 64.